"I am tomorrow, or some future day, what I establish today. I am today what I established yesterday or some previous day."

James Joyce

The James Joyce Apartment (sleeps 6) 

2 double beds in the main bedroom and a double pull down sofa bed in the living area.  All bed linen provided.

Large spacious bathroom with power shower.  Freshly laundered towels provided and a hairdryer is available for guests to use in each apartment.

Fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, iron, ironing board and all utensils necessary.

Cable TV and DVD player.

Excellant Wifi included in the price.

Free parking.

Located on the ground floor overlooking the garden.


FlipKey
FlipKey
FlipKey
FlipKey

 

APRIL 2017

“We loved staying at Fiona and Liam's place. We were greeted by Fiona with a wealth of information about the city, and in particular things to do as a family. She also brought us fresh bread, fruit, butter, and milk. The bus stops were very convenient to the apartment and there was a full grocery store within a 5 min walk. Also, the communication between us and the host was great. They quickly responded to any questions we had. I would highly recommend staying here. ”

MARCH 2017

The James Joyce Apartment was everything we hoped for.

We were a group of 6 and found the apartment comfortable and big eough for all of us. The kitchen was fully equipped and all the electronics and facilities were well maintained. Everything was as stated, it was very tidy and there even was a bowl of fruit and a baguette awaiting us on arrival. It as lovely seeing the books and pictures of James Joyce in the apartment, too. Although the owners could not meet us in person, they were very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. 

Although the apartment is situated on a semi-busy road, it was very quiet in the neighbourhood and we felt perfectly safe. There are a couple of bus lines near, but we walked most of the time, which took us about 30min to the city centre. Furthermore, a Tesco and a couple of pubs are near, so everything you need for a stay in Dublin.

While in Dublin, you should check out the Dublin Writer's Museum (great overview about the lifes of writers such as Joyce, Wilde, Beckett etc., which fits in with the apartments as well). If you like to see a bit of the countryside, Killiney Hill is quite near (take the DART line towards Bray) and hiking there is super relaxing. You can also visit the James Joyce Tower near Dalkey, where you find a small museum (for free) and also a bathing place.

I would always come back and definitely recommend the Glencourt apartments to friends and family. Hopefully, we will be able to come back to Dublin in the near future.

MARCH 2017

Our very first airbnb experience, and a standard hotel booking simply cannot compare. A lovely apartment, ideal for our family of four, with super-comfortable beds, a modern clean washroom, and generous cozy sitting and dining area. Location was perfect - quiet and removed from the downtown core, yet a comfortable walk or easy bus ride to central Dublin. An excellent grocery store is a five minute walk. Warm attentive owners, quick to respond to emails. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

MARCH 2017

This apartment is wonderful, very nice and comfortable even with a large group of 6 people. We were only a 30 minutes walk from central Dublin and the bus stop was right outside so it was easy to get to and from the city. Liam was always prompt about replying to any questions that we had and he arranged for a driver to get us to and from the airport which was so great for us.


March 2017


Liam's place was great. It is very close to public transportation and walking distance to shopping and dining. Our family of five was very comfortable in the flat. Liam was very easy to communicate with. We had a power outage in the area and Liam was very responsive to keep us up to date when the power would be restored.

March 2017


The apartment was an easy taxi ride to Dublin center, and a grocery store was a convenient 3 minute walk away

Great apartment definitely give it a go

FEBRUARY 2017





Overall the apartment was great, we were a group of five people and found the apartment suitable for our needs, it was just like the pictures and was located on a very nice part of the city. It was clean and moderately close to the city center with a sort of shopping center nearby.

The host, Liam, was very friendly and helpful and giving us a good information about the area and the best places to go.

I would definitely recommend the apartment and if I ever get a chance I would return.



PERFECT APARTMENT FOR HOLIDAYS!

DECEMBER 2016


We stayed 4 days and it was a very pleased stay! A cozy apartment, very clean and with all neccessary things. To

10 minutes to arrive to the city center by bus. Bus stop to 1 minute from the accomodation.

Comunication with Liam was very fluent all the time before the arrival and during the stay.

A good host!

I strongly recommend this apartment for all those who want to visit Dublin!!!!

Enjoyed our home away from home

DECEMBER 2016

We stayed in the beautiful James Joyce apt. The apt. was clean and comfortable.  The only bathroom is accessed through the bedroom.  A grocery store is within walking distance. The bus to Dublin Centre is at the end of the street and is about a 10 minute ride. We arranged to be picked up and dropped off at the airport through Liam. Our driver, Gary was very nice. Liam answered all emails and texts quickly. Liam was pleasant and professional. He also arranged other taxis for us, which was wonderful. I highly recommend the tour to Wicklow and the train to Belfast. Woudl rent again




Great location close toi Phoenix park and the bus

OCTOBER 2016


Liam and Fiona were wonderful throughout the process from booking until the day we vacated. The property was clean and very very comfy a true home away from home. All required amenities where supplied it was in fact a lovely stay and we will never hesitate to recommend this apartment to anyone in the future. Should I return to Dublin I know where I am staying. Good job guys and thanks for all your help, info and the transport to and from the airport.

Skøn og hyggelig lejlighed, pænt og rent, god stil

OCTOBER 2016



Vi boede i James Joyes lejligheden i stuen med 5 overnatninger 4 voksne personer. En rigtig dejlig og hyggelig lejlighed med god plads til os alle, og vi følte os straks hjemme efter kort tid.

En rigtig hyggelig stue med køkken, et stort soveværelse med to dobbeltsenge samt et fint badeværelse. Lejligheden var pæn og ren da vi kom, vi blev godt modtaget af Fiona, som fortalte lidt om alt det praktiske, og gav os gode råd til oplevelser i området. Vi spiste bl.a. på restaurant Coto og var på Cobbelstone pub som begge skal opleves.

Vi boede i en lejlighed hvor alt var ok, et praktisk køkken med alt i udstyr, rigeligt med skabs plads i soveværelset, de dejligste senge at sove i, og et badeværelse med en fin bruser med rigeligt varmt vand til os 4. Det larmer lidt fra det lille bryggers, når der bruges vand, men det vænner man sig til. Der var god varme i lejligheden både morgen og aften men der bliver skruet helt ned i løbet af dagen, hvor man typisk er ude og opleve noget. Der er wi-fi og det er hurtigt og virker hele tiden. Husk adapter til strøm. Vi manglede måske en kost og en støvsuger, så vi selv kunne gøre lidt rent på de 6 dage.

Lejligheden ligger i et hyggeligt og meget roligt kvarter, hvor der kun er 5 min. gang til et stort supermarked og indkøbscenter, få minutters gang til flere hyggelige pubber, og man kan gå ned til centrum på ca. 20-25 min. Vi gik frem og tilbage til centrum alle dage, og det er faktisk en hyggelig tur at gå. Vi brugte slet ikke offentlig transport under hele vores ophold, men der er bus ca. 150-200 m. fra lejligheden.

Lejligheden levede helt op til vores forventninger, den var som vi var blevet lovet på de billeder, og den beskrivelse der er på Home Away og

på Glencourts apartments web side. Før vores ophold var jeg en del gange i kontakt med Liam og Fiona på mail, og de er meget hurtige til at svare på de spørgsmål man har.

Vi kan kun anbefale stedet, der er helt styr på tingene og man føler sig velkommen og godt tilpas fra start til slut under opholdet.

PS - Skal i på udflugter så tag busturene til Cliffs of Moher og turen til Wicklow og Glendalough, nogle fantastiske ture hvor du får oplevet skønne Irland - ud over alle oplevelserne i Dublin.

God tur og hils Fiona og Liam fra Flemming i Danmark.


OCTOBER 2016


This apartment was fantastic! It was very spacious and comfortably slept the six of us. The interior and kitchen were also very nice. Liam was very welcoming and helpful in making our stay in Dublin a great one. He helped set up a driver to take us to the airport in under half an hour, and also was very quick to respond to any emails I sent. I would highly recommend this apartment to any prospective renters


OCTOBER 2016


Liam was a great host! Very nice, helpful and communication with him was very easy. He gave a lot of great tips to find around town, which was nice. The apartment was great too - beautiful, clean and enough space for two people. Also it was in a nice neighborhood and also in a good spot regarding public transportation. It was really easy to get to the city center. We enjoyed our stay at Liam's and would love to come back some day!


AUGUST 2016

Our very first airbnb experience, and a standard hotel booking simply cannot compare. A lovely apartment, ideal for our family of four, with super-comfortable beds, a modern clean washroom, and generous cozy sitting and dining area. Location was perfect - quiet and removed from the downtown core, yet a comfortable walk or easy bus ride to central Dublin. An excellent grocery store is a five minute walk. Warm attentive owners, quick to respond to emails. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Happy swimmers from Canada

July 2016

We had an excellent trip! In Ireland for the first time and came across this apartment. We rented 5 apartments and that is where the wonderful help and guidance came from the ownership team. The apartments were awesome. The owners were even more awesome! They helped us find local transportation for our 10 days, always available via email for questions and all started with a guided drive from airport to apartment. We recommend any apartment in their complex!! Thank you for making our trip affordable, well organized and extremely memorable for our swimmers and coaches!!!

Perfect apartment for Dublin city-trip

July 2016

We wanted to explore Ireland with our 4 children (so we are 6 persons) and begin in the capital. For this the apartment is perfect. Liam has organized the transport from the airport for us and made us feel welcome. We also received from him a map and useful information for excursions, bus etc. The apartment was comfortable and nicely decorated and very clean. The only tiny little thing we could fault would be that the water tank is very loud. If someone has to go to the toilet at night, necessarily all be monitored. But that would not stop us, to rent or to recommend this apartment again.

May 2016

The apartment was great and had everything we needed. It felt cosy and we felt at home during our 6 weeks stay. The bed and sofa were really comfortable and the kitchen was adequate. The bus stop is located just afew steps out the front door and the bus ride is about 15mins to city centre. There is also tesco and a halal food store located about 5mins walk away. Phoenix park, the dublin zoo and heuston train station are also nearby, takes less than 30mins on foot. Liam is also very friendly and he checks in on us whenever he can to make sure that we were comfortable. Overall great experience, highly recommended! (:

April 2016

This place had everything we were looking for. Right on bus line. Grocery nearby . Unit was spotless when we arrived. We felt very secure in our unit. When traveling back to Dublin we would most definitely stay here Thanks Liam !!

February 2016

Appartement confortable, très propre, très fonctionnel. un peu loin du centre ville mais pour ceux qui aiment la marche à pied, c'est tout à fait faisable. Sinon, il y a les bus à la sortie de l'immeuble. tout ce qu'il faut pour faire les courses à proximité. Ville agréable, beaucoup de magasins, de pubs.... Visite de Trinity collège et maison de la Guinness à faire!

February 2016

Wonderful days in Dublin!!..After few phone call i've met the owner in the apartment in city,very kind person and helpful. The apartment was as i expected,very clean and fully equipped!!..Very close bus stop,shopping centre and a nice pub restaurant just two minutes walk!!..Hopefully I'll be back as soon possible

February 2016

Thank you for a really enjoyable first time stay in Dublin . Accommodation was very good and I would recommend a stay here to anyone . We didn't have a car but buses are frequent or if you like walking the city centre is only a 20 minute walk away


Beaut. apartment, good position, very kind owner


January 2015

Very comfortable and beautiful apartment with a stunning bow window and the bus stop just in front. Just a note, a coolish temperature in the bathroom

January 2016

We were welcomed by friendly Liam and Fiona, who on arrival, gave us tips and info about the city, shops, restaurants nearby, public transport and routes - everything that you need to know when you are a first time tourist in Dublin. Airport transfers were arranged by them, with no worries to us. Excellent location near shops, easy walks to good restaurants and pubs. Neat, clean, cosy (it was very cold outside !) and comfortable self catering apartment with everything that you need for a family of 5. Wi-Fi efficient as was advertised. Wonderful stay!

December 2015

Wir hatten einen wunderbaren Aufenthalt in Dublin. Die Wohnung war auch zu sechst nicht zu eng, sehr sauber, gut ausgestattet und gut gelegen (Bushaltestelle, Supermarkt). Das Stadtzentrum war mit dem Bus, aber auch zu Fuß sehr gut zu erreichen. Der freundliche Vermieter hatte Brot, Butter und Äpfel bereitgestellt und empfahl uns auch einen Pub in der Nähe, in dem traditionellen Musik gespielt wird. Bei unserem nächsten Dublin-Trip gerne wieder!

December 2015

Very comfortable and beautiful apartment with a stunning bow window and the bus stop just in front. 

November 2015

My friends and I stayed very well in this apartment . It was large enough for six people, comfortable, clean and we could find all the utilities we needed. The owner, Liam, was kind : he explained us all the most important places to visit in Dublin and organised for us the transfer from and to the airport. We used to walk to the city centre every morning but there is a bus stop just near the apartment. If we would go back to Dublin we hope to stay there again.

September 2015

La casa che ho prenotato era esattamente come descritta. Il luogo comodissimo, vicino al parco e a pochi minuti di autobus (4 linee) dal centro della città. Un grande supermercato molto vicino. L'appartamento era confortevolissimo, tanto da avere voglia di passare le serate in casa...L'accoglienza perfetta, le spiegazioni chiare e la disponibilità di Liam ottima anche durante il soggiorno. La possibilità di prenotare un transfer da e per l'aeroporto è stata comodissima. La persona che fa questo servizio è molto gentile e già in taxi ci si sente a casa. Lo consiglio a tutti quelli che vogliano sentirsi a casa a Dublino!

Apartment was very nice, the host provided all necessary information and everything was as expected based on the listing.

July 2015

Liam is an excellent host and makes you feel welcomed. He was very helpful getting us accustomed to the location we were staying in relation to the various sights around the city.

June 2015

We had a lovely time in Dublin! The flat was beautifully decorated and furnished and was well equipped. One of the perks of staying in the flat was that we could self-cater. We were able to make ourselves a great fry up and a good dinner with very little difficulty. There were 6 of us staying in the apartment very comfortably. Two of us were on the sofa bed and we had no problems setting this up and had a very restful nights sleep. Our only criticism of the flat was the location of the bathroom. To get to the bathroom you have to go through the bedroom where the other four guests were sleeping which was not always ideal. The shower also comfortably has enough hot water for 5 decent showers in a row, so we took it in turns as to who was to have the last shower as the water would be quite cool by the time the last person had finished. All this being said the flat really was beautiful and we had no other qualms with the flat at all. Liam also helpfully arranged transport for us to and from the airport! The driver very kindly provided us with maps and then as we arrived quite late he stopped at the flat so we could put our stuff down then drove us to tesco for no extra charge. The flat is well located. It is about a 20 minute walk from the nearest tram station but if the weather had been nice we would have happily walked the extra distance into the city centre. There was a bus strike on for two days whilst we were there but on the Sunday we were able to get the bus straight into town. The flat is on a bus route. We were also able to get two taxis into town on the Saturday night for €15 per taxi. So in terms of location, it was perfect! As mentioned tesco's is just round the corner for those who do want to self cater. There is also a local pub down the road called Hynes Bar. This is very much a locals pub but when we got there we found all the locals were very friendly and came over and spoke to us. On our first night one of the locals even bought us a round of drinks to welcome us to Dublin! Lastly, although Liam couldn't greet us at the airport himself he did come and visit on the Saturday morning to check everything was ok with the flat and that we had settled in ok. Liam was also on hand via the app to answer any and all questions at a moments notice which was also greatly appreciated.


May 2015

Overall we has a wonderful time in Dublin and Liam's flat was the perfect base for us. Well decorated, well located, well furnished, well equipped and all in a brilliant host! Would highly recommend! 

“It was a marvelous apt. and suited my needs perfectly.”


Liam was a great help and made my stay perfect. He was welcoming and helpful with any and all requests. I would recommend this apt. as convenient to Dublin but far enough away from the busyness of Dublin to be welcome. Bus service was very convenient and all the amenities were available for a long stay.

April 2015

The apartment was very nice. It had everything we needed. It had a couple of buses that went near the apartment to help us travel where ever we wanted to go. The supermarket was in walking distance. Liam assisted with questions and helped arranged our airport travels which made the trip stress free.

March 2015

Very nice place! Very nice owners! They had bread and milk and butter and fruit already there for us! Walking distance to most places and bus goes right by out front. Very comfortable, felt like home. We wish we could have stayed longer. Liam was a welcoming host who made us feel at home. The apartment was clean, warm and very comfortable, with useful amenities like a washing machine. It is handy to the centre of Dublin, and close to the Phoenix Park but has on street parking if required. I will definitely come back here next time I am in Dublin, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others

February 2015

We were a group of four university students who wanted to visit the city of Dublin. The apartment was perfect for us, we could go walking to most of the places and if it was necessary we could take a bus (there is a stop in front of the apartment). The aparment was magnific and so clean. It was a warm and confortable place to relax after a day visiting the city centre. If we go back to Dublin, we hope to stay here again :) Thanks to Liam for all his recomendations, his help and his kindness. See you soon,

February 2015
We were 5 friends sharing the place and we really liked and enjoyed being there. Liam was a great host, and help us with everything we needed it. The place was cosy, clean and had for us a few nice things like coffee, salt, milk, bread... to use. It was close enough to the city center, not to worry too much about spending a lot of money in transport and with a super market 5min walking from the place. Really handy! :) The only but to say about it was that the sofa-bed, that was a bit uncomfortable, but even though, it's been totally worth it to rent it and we'd definitely repeat the experience. :)

January 2015

Happy Happy Happy

We have been here since Wednesday and from the ride in from driver Brendan, to the welcome by owner Liam, to our continuing stay, we are here now and enjoying every minute, with loads to do and see, we love this property!!!! It is even more beautiful than the pictures. During the booking and anticipating process, Liam expediently responded to all of our queries. He met us here and gave us the 'lay of the land.' Lovely bread, milk, butter, and his home grown delicious apples awaited us. The bus to city centre and points beyond is convenient and easy. The apartment is spotlessly clean, comfortable, and lovely. Grocery store, pubs, and restaurants around the corner. The Cobblestone pub, music, dancing, and friendly people, is in walking distance. We plan to be here a month. I wish it were a year!! Thank you Liam and Fiona for a dream come true trip...more fun to come on our stay!!!!

Stayed: October 2014

Liam was a gracious host and set us up with a driver from the airport at a reasonable rate for the 5 of us with 5 large bags. He met us at the apartment and got us squared away. We found the apartment clean and comfortable for the 5 of us. The neighborhood is perfectly safe with great bus connections to the city centre.... only 10 minutes or so riding time. The buses were frequent and efficient. We would stay here again if visiting Dunlin. Thank you, Liam.


From San Jose, CA · August 2014

“Perfect place to stay in Dublin”

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 15, 2014 

for a stay in May 2014

My husband and I, along with our 2 adult sons, selected this apartment for our stay in Dublin. We could not have been happier! Lovely, lovely apartment, great location, washer and dryer, central location, and easy access to walk or bus into Downtown Dublin. Also within a very short walk to a wonderful Indian take away restaurant and a lovely family owned Irish bar, Kavannah's, (which we visited at least once, daily!). Liam was amazing as an Inn Keeper, communication was wonderful and he even set up a ride to and from the airport for us. We have decided to visit Dublin again, and will definitely secured this apartment again. Thank you for being part of an amazing experience.


Wonderful vacation

We totally enjoyed our stay and when returning to Dublin, Glen Court Apartments will be our choice lodging. Excellent location and within a short walk to grocery store and several great restaurants. Liam is an excellent host. He also arranged all of our ground transportation and his drivers were very friendly and always arrived on time. We would not hesitate to stay with Liam again.

o    Stayed: June 2014

Outstanding

We stayed at Liam's place in June of 2013. I have for nearly a year now, been planning to write a review and have never gotten around to it. Our stay was wonderful. We arranged to meet Liam at his place and unfortunately due to travel delays, we were a couple of hours late for him. He was incredibly gracious and we found him waiting at our apartment with a baguette, butter, milk and some fruit! The place is beautifully kept and looks just like the pictures. Very comfortable. The location was great. The bus stop was practically less than a block from the house and took us directly downtown in 15-20 minutes. Thanks again Liam.

o    Stayed: June 2014

 

IRELAND STAY

  •  5 out of 5

Quite a lovely apartment, all the amenities needed for our 9 day stay. The apartment was clean, spacious and sound proof. The location was very convenient to the city, taxis were always available yet walking distance was just as easy. We visited the Zoo which is several blocks down the road, the Soulfood restaurant was fabulous, lots of quaint pubs to visit, food store the corner. Thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Ireland would definitely consider renting again and recommend to all. Thank you Liam.

  • Review Submitted: 6-Jun-2014

GREAT APARTMENT

  •  5 out of 5

The apartment was great... same as on pictures... The location was perfect only 10-15 minutes by foot from the center city... the kitchen and bathroom were equipped with all necessaries ( all the things you need and more) . The owner was perfect, with quick responses to all emails and questions. The apartment was equipped with a lot of brochures and city guides. We enjoined our staying there. We would definitely recommend this apartment.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Apr-2014

 Excellent!

If it were possible to give ten stars I would gladly do so! My husband and I rented three units, the Samuel Beckett, the Keats, and the James Joyce for our six daughters, four granddaughters, and three great granddaughters under three. My husband is somewhat limited in mobility and our gracious host Liam made every effort to accommodate him, as well as providing a high chair and cot for the littlest one. The apartments are everything they advertise...spacious, immaculate, comfortable and so very convenient. The city bus stop is just steps away and you can connect to tours and attractions very easily. My only regret is that we can't return every year!

  • Stayed: April 2014

 

 

UN APPARTEMENT CONFORTABLE CALME DE BON GOUT

Nous avons passé un très bon moment à Dublin et nous avons beaucoup apprécié votre sens de l'accueil .L'appartement est très confortable et nous pouvons dire que rien ne nous a manqué lors de ce séjour de 5 jours.Le voisinage est très calme et l'appartement bien situé pour prendre les transports en commun vers le centre ville ,de plus ,aucune difficulté pour garer gratuitement la voiture dans la rue. Encore bravo pour la décoration,moderne !Les photos et les descriptions sont réalistes.A RECOMMANDER.

  • Stayed: March 2014

 BEST Easy, Economical Stay on the North Side

My family of five (brother, sister-in-law, nephew, and spouse) stayed in the James Joyce for 6 nights on a bucket-list trip to Dublin. The apartment was comfortable and matched the pictures shown. Liam (the apartment owner) was responsive to all email inquiries and the payment process was seamless. We liked staying out of the city center and in a real-to-life Irish neighborhood with pubs, grocery stores, and take-away restaurants within a few minutes walk. We had a few problems at the start but Liam was very responsive and corrected the issue within an hour of our calling. American travelers: Be advised that the apartment does not have a phone; it might be a good idea to have a world plan on your mobile as we were lucky to find someone willing to let us make a call. 5 Stars to the pick-up taxi from and to the Dublin airport. Brendan, our driver, could not have been more accommodating and the price was reasonable. Liam made all the arrangements for us so we never had to think about it. Fresh bread, local butter and jam, and fresh fruit were all provided for our arrival -- and good restaurant information was given for our first Dublin meal. Plan ahead for the weather, please. We're from the Pacific Northwest of the USA so rain didn't bother us; we were, however, unprepared for how the humidity affected the temperature so a relatively clement day (48 - 52 degrees F) was very, very cold.

  • Stayed: March 2014

 

Excellent apartment in Dublin

Excellent stay in this apartment fully equiped and very comfortable. A bit far from the center while walking (40 min) but very nice area close to Phoenix Park. We had a great stay and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014

“Fantastic Apartment”

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

1

 

We hired the apartment for one weeks stay in Dublin. The apartment is excellently situated to access all areas of the city. Its approximately 10 minute walk to Phoenix Park and Dublin Zoo, which is well worth a visit. There is a bus stop across the road, however alternately if you like to walk (like we did), the city centre can be reached in approximately 20-30 minutes. There is a Tesco 5 minutes walk also from the apartment.

The apartment is beautifully decorated with many period features. Well equipped to cater for all your needs. Alternatively there are many pubs and restaurants to choose from in the local area if you don't fancy cooking!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Liam the owner was most helpful. We will be recommending this apartment to our friends and family and will defiantly come back in the future.

Recomendable”

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013


Very nice owner. Apartment placed in calm zone, communicated good. We lodge 2 girls and 3 adults and it was very comfortable.

AUTIFUL APARTMENT IN A GREAT LOCATION

  •  4 out of 5
  • We really enjoyed our stay in the James Joyce apartment, the flat was beautifully decorated with ample space for all 6 of us. The apartment was in a great location, right next to the local tescos and a 5 minute walk away from Phoenix park, as well as being right next to a bus stop which took you into the centre of town. 
    Liam was there to meet us when we arrived at the apartment and was quick to arrange taxis from the airport which was a great help as we had never visited before. We thoroughly enjoyed staying in the apartment and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.      Review Submitted: 3-Aug-2013

 

“Clean, well furnished, responsive owner”

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

1

 

This apartment fitted our purposes very well. We wanted an apartment with cooking facilities and this apartment suited our needs far better than a hotel room. The location worked fine for us. It is a short walk to Phoenix Park and an excellent zoo. It is also convenient for a short, and frequent, bus ride to central Dublin. There is a Tesco nearby for provisions. The quality of the apartment in terms of physical condition and furnishing was excellent. The owner was highly responsive to our few requests relating to a change in date and help with transport from airport. Very satisfied.


FANTASTIC

  •  5 out of 5

Wonderful apartment, just as advertised. Of all the places we stayed in Ireland this was perhaps the best mix of authentic character and convenience. The owners (Liam and Fiona) were extremely accommodating and polite and the apartment was perfect. Whether you are looking for a home base from which to experience the culture and beauty of Dublin or simply trying to take a few days off to relax (we were looking for a little of both), this is a fantastic and affordable option. Five stars!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Jan-2013

Beautiful Ireland

Just returned from a 'too' short week in Ireland and stayed in this quaint apartment. I found the apartment to be a good size, having travelled in the British Isles before I know things are alot smaller. Lots of hot water, heated towel rack was a plus. The convenience of a mobile phone for our use came in really handy for co-ordinating pick up times with our hired driver...Brendan will take you almost anywhere you want to go!....the location is great...unfortunately, didn't even have time to check out the Dublin Zoo which is just around the corner. Our only complaint was that it was hard to sleep at night due to noise...not from outside but from other tenants. People would come in at 3am and when they did it was like they were in our room. If they were above us we could hear them coughing...maybe it was just a bad week but we were already tired and this made things alot worse. One day there were workers there and they worked on the upstairs apartment until 9pm. Liam was great to deal with and the apartment was great...just the noise.

  • Stayed: September 2013

would stay again!

Great place to stay. A little bit of a walk to where all the action is, but loved our little section of Dublin Nice having a grocery store so close and good places to eat as well. Very comfortable and stay and clean. Liam was very helpful and there if you had any questions. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013

PERFECT STAY IN DUBLIN

We (family of five) stayed at this apartment over the Thanksgiving holiday and were very happy with out stay. Liam was a great host and answered all of our questions about what to do and see in Ireland. He graciously arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport and offered one to take us back to the airport. The apartment is modern and well maintained. It has two comfortable full size beds in the bedroom. Our two boys stayed in the living room which has a pull out couch. We had great wi-fi throughout our stay and the boys enjoyed the nice tv with cable in the living room. The Bathroom has a nice size shower with plenty of hot water and pressure which we enjoyed. The pictures are accurate with the description which is not always the case. The location was perfect for us, away from the busy center of town but within a 10 min bus ride to it. Within 100 meters there are three bus lines that you can take to downtown so we hardly ever waited more than 5 minutes for one. We rented a car for our last two days so we could drive around and found parking right outside the apartment both nights. I would recommend getting out of Dublin and experiencing the rest of Ireland if you have the time. The thing I enjoyed the most was the price! I found this apartment to be a lot cheaper than most when I was searching but still a quality apartment. If you are looking for a clean, modern, comfortable, well equipped, and centrally located apartment in Dublin then this one is a smart choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013

“Great! Would go there again!”

5 of 5 starsReviewed September 3, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

2

 

people found this review helpful

The apartment was great! It looked just like in the pictures. The kitchen has all you need (and more). It is very clean. It's close enough to the city to walk, but far enough to be quiet. The manager is a gent!

  •  5 out of 5

"Everything was as promised, even better. The apartment was clean and the kitchen fully equipped.
The neighborhood was quiet, close to main tourist attractions, bus station and a supermarket. 
Best accommodation one can get in order to have a great vacation in Dublin."

  • Review Submitted: 2-Sep-2012

Exceeded expectations

I visited Dublin for sixteen days and wanted to stay in one location and venture out from it. The James Joyce apartment at Glencourt can be described as Comfortable Elegance. The location is excellent. The descriptions describe this wonderful place perfectly. Liam was available from the moment I arrived. The apartment was stylish, comfortable, clean and well equipped. With a grocery store just down the road, I was able to purchase a few food items for my stay. I walked everywhere to experience Dublin. Step out the front door and turn right and you can visit Phoenix Park and the Dublin Zoo. Turn left and head towards Prussia Street to Manor Street and you will find all you need for a short visit or an extended stay. I recommend, for a full Irish Breakfast, the Mad Hatter Café. Further down on Manor Street, you will find L. Mulligan Grocer pub for incredible dinners, numerous beers on tap, an excellent selection of Irish whiskeys and the finest staff in Dublin. The James Joyce apartment at Glencourt was a welcome retreat at the end of a long day. Stay here and you will have cherished memories for a life time. I am planning to journey back to Dublin soon and will be contacting Liam and Fiona to stay at this brilliant location. Thank Liam and Fiona for providing a warm inviting home away from home to come back to each evening. Side note; my mother passed away one month prior to my visit to Dublin. Liam was aware of my situation and was compassionate and understanding. Thank you again for everything Liam and Fiona.

  • Stayed: November 2012
  •  4 out of 5

"Ha sido mi primera vez en Dublín y he de confesar que vale la pena repetir. Nos hizo un tiempo fantástico teniendo en cuenta que fuimos del 31 de diciembre al 5 de enero. El apartamento es luminoso, muy limpio y no hemos echado nada en falta. Tenía todo lo necesario y más. Las camas/almohadas muy cómodas. A los que no les guste caminar quizás les parecerá un poco alejado del centro pero hay varios buses que paran justo al lado (Nosotros solíamos ir caminando) Hay restaurantes,bares y un gran supermercado para todos los gustos. La zona es tranquila. 
Liam, el propietario, me ayudó en todo lo que necesité desde que decidimos alquilar ese apartamento. Una persona muy servicial sin llegar nunca a resultar incómoda.Organizó el servicio de taxi para recogerme en el aeropuerto ya que llegaba sola y además permitió que mis amigos dejaran el equipaje en el apartamento hasta las salida de su vuelo. Realmente nos hemos sentido como en casa."

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jan-2013


TRÈS BON SÉJOUR

  •  5 out of 5

Nous sommes très satisfaits de notre séjour, nous occupions pendant 4 jours deux appartements (Samuel Beckett & James Joyce). Complètement équipés (lave vaisselle, cuisine équipée, wifi), propres avec beaucoup de rangements. Grands et agréables à vivre, lumineux. Bien situés, à côté de plusieurs lignes de bus et d'un supermarché. Environ 30 minutes à pied du centre ville, au calme. Le propriétaire a été très disponible avant notre venue, échange par mail. Présent à notre arrivée, très accueillant. Service de navette depuis l'aéroport sans aucun soucis, moins cher qu'un taxi. Nous recommandons!

  • Review Submitted: 7-Apr-2014
  •  5 out of 5

"Tutto perfetto, veramente un bellissimo appartamento con tutti i confort. Vicino al centro che si può raggiungere con gli autobus che passano sotto casa.
Consigliatissimo."

  • Review Submitted: 24-May-2013

 

  •  5 out of 5

"Merci Liam. Tout est parfait dans cette belle demeure. Nous avons apprécié le supermarché tout proche de la maison, le taxi à l''aéroport pour notre arrivée et notre départ. La visite de Dublin
se fait très facilement à partir de la maison.
A refaire."

  • Review Submitted: 20-May-2013

 

  •  3 out of 5

"tout était parfait (propreté, décoration, confort, situation pour aller dans le centre, accueil, ...) sauf l''insonorisation avec l''appartement au dessus : on entend la télé, les voix, les pas, les meubles qui bougent ..."

  • Review Submitted: 18-Nov-2012

 

 

  •  5 out of 5

"The apartment is in accordance with the announcement, the photos reflect reality. It is located on the ground floor of a small palace of 3 floors. The bedroom is the inner courtyard, so it was quiet.
It is located in a quiet area, close to the park but very well served by public transport. There is a Tesco supermarket a 5 minute walk away and all you may need, pharmacy, ATM. The apartment has everything, including washing machine and dishwasher. Liam arranged a taxi for both arrival and the return to the airport.Upon our arrival we found a basket of fruit, milk, bread and butter as welcome.
A thought very cute and very appreciated."

  • Review Submitted: 2-Jan-2013

First trip overseas

We arrived at the apartment early and the owner was waiting to greet us. He allowed us to leave our bags, allowing us to walk down the block and have lunch at Hanlon's Pub and explore the city while the apartment was being readied for our stay (we arrived as the prior guests were leaving). The apartment is in a charming old building and had everything necessary and more for us to have a great stay. The beds and furniture were very comfortable and the bath was spacious. The owner was very friendly, accomodating to special requests and provided helpful tips.

  • Stayed: June 2012

Glencourt

We knew nothing about Ireland nor Dublin when we rented this apartment. It was exactly as advertised and perfect for us. We stayed for 18 nights and had everything we needed to live very comfortably. We could walk many places - and if walking was not the best option - there are at least 5 bus stops in very close proximity; grocery store nearby. People at Gill's Market [again very close by] were very helpful with bus passes and info. We found 2 cafes in walking distance for breakfast and a new Italian restaurant for dinner. We learned many pubs do not serve food after 3:00 p.m. [we like American pub food] and if we missed that deadline, we simply walked by the grocery store on the way home and 'picked up' dinner to be finished in our kitchen. Despite it's convenient location [buses, retail] inside the apartment is very quiet - perfect combination for us! I had an internet issue and Liam [owner] stayed on it until resolved [and yes you can really telephone him and he actually answers the phone!!] Liam also arranged a taxi to fetch us from the airport - a nice treat at the end of a long flight. We would stay here again and have already recommended it to friends traveling to Ireland later this year.

  • Stayed: April 2012
  • We had an excellent experience with every aspect of this apartment. It was the cleanest place we have ever stayed (Europe and USA) and was extremely convenient to get around the city of Dublin. The owner Liam was prompt to answer all our questions ahead of time and was great with our kids and patiently answered all our questions when we arrived. The bus stop right outside really could get us anywhere in the city in just minutes. The amenities were all just as described and there was anything we could have needed within walking distance (grocery, restaurants, etc). We walked to Phoenix Park several times, and when we drove the parking was easy and convenient right out front. The only concern would be the exposed water heater if someone had toddlers that were tempted, but it was perfect for our children and for most travelers. We would 100% try to stay here again if we are in Dublin.    Stayed: April 2012

US-Military Family LIving Overseas

 

 

 What a gem!!

We came to Dublin to visit our daughter who was spending her first college semester in Dublin! We spent 8 nights and it couldn't have been more perfect! Our daughter's college apt was a 10 minute walk from this apt so we were able to cook her dinner and have some nice relaxing time with her in the apt when she wasn't in school or we all weren't out and about! The apartment has all the conveniences of your own home and was just completely renovated a few months ago! The wonderfully tall ceilings are adorned with beautiful moldings which gives the feeling of spaciousness. The floors are hardwood and the furniture is comfortable - altho would be tight for 6 adults! The beds are very comfortable and are both doubles so people sleeping on queen or king beds at home might feel a bit crowded. There is ample clothing storage in the bedroom given a large armoire and a tall dresser. The bathroom is a nice size (for a European bathroom! Smile!) with very good water pressure, a comfortably sized shower stall, and a wonderful wall towel heater! It comes with towels and soap. The kitchen is nicely equipped with pots, pans, toaster, oven, dishwasher, microwave and plenty of dishes for 6 people. The location is not in the city center however we appreciated getting out if the city center and coming home to a quieter neighborhood. There are a few convenient bus lines (39, 39A, and more) that run every 10 or so minutes and take you directly to Trinity College area and beyond! Very convenient if you are tired of walking the 40 minutes to city center. This neighborhood has a few very good and convenient restaurants: Seven Grill, Plan B, and L. Mulligans Grocer, a gastro-pub, written up in the NYTimes! If you want to buy groceries there is a Tesco supermarket 5 minutes away down the street! Liam is a very gracious and efficient Irishman host! He emailed me promptly when I made initial inquiries and followed through with the rental agreement and payment instructions promptly. He organized for a taxi to meet us outside of customs and deliver us to the apt for Euro25 which was so nice after flying for 12 hours on an overnight flight from the San Francisco bay area. I emailed him with a need for some kitchen detergent and a sponge and it was promptly delivered the next morning!! This stay couldn't have been any better!

  • Stayed: October 2012

 

  •  5 out of 5

"Great location to visit Dublin and neighborhood.
With 46A we'' arrived in O''Connell street in a while (a little walk to reach 
Connolly train station), but if you like walking, the city center is really not 
far at all (and other buses pass there)
Our child was very happy to close often days in Dublin with playground in 
Phoenix park,10 minutes walk.
And what about meal? We had dinner in appartment at evening, and the market is 
just around the corner.
Appartment is large, clean, very silence at night."


Wonderful vacation 

We totally enjoyed our stay and when returning to Dublin, Glen Court Apartments will be our choice lodging. Excellent location and within a short walk to grocery store and several great restaurants. Liam is an excellent host. He also arranged all of our ground transportation and his drivers were very friendly and always arrived on time. We would not hesitate to stay with Liam again. 

Perfect place to stay in Dublin”

15th June 2014


My husband and I, along with our 2 adult sons, selected this apartment for our stay in Dublin. We could not have been happier! Lovely, lovely apartment, great location, washer and dryer, central location, and easy access to walk or bus into Downtown Dublin. Also within a very short walk to a wonderful Indian take away restaurant and a lovely family owned Irish bar, Kavannah's, (which we visited at least once, daily!). Liam was amazing as an Inn Keeper, communication was wonderful and he even set up a ride to and from the airport for us. We have decided to visit Dublin again, and will definitely secured this apartment again. Thank you for being part of an amazing experience.


"Great location, property, amenities, and customer service; made "

We visited as a family (2 adults, and 2 U16), for a 10 day holiday in Ireland. The apartment and its facilities are fantastic; everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The location of the apartment in Dublin 7 is excellent; shopping centre (with supermarket, pharmacy, post office, bakery, and newsagent) around the corner (walking distance), ample parking (if renting a car), minutes from the city center and major thoroughfares (N3, N4) and motorways (M50, M1). Dublin Bus serves the apartment with excellent, quick service to the city center and beyond. As reference, a taxi fare for 4 people including extras and pickup fee (i.e. you called the taxi to pick you up) is approximately 10 Euro.

However, the best part of the stay was Mr. Travers' commitment to customer service; it is fantastic! Need groceries waiting for you when you arrive? Just ask, and count on it. Need a special request due to use of a medical device? You got it (Thanks Liam once again for coordinating that!). Every need, concern, request was always attended to promtply. I have rented apartments in other European metropolitan areas, and nobody does customer service like Mr. Travers does. I will definitely stay with him again soon.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jun-2014

OUTSTANDING

We stayed at Liam's place in June of 2013. I have for nearly a year now, been planning to write a review and have never gotten around to it. Our stay was wonderful. We arranged to meet Liam at his place and unfortunately due to travel delays, we were a couple of hours late for him. He was incredibly gracious and we found him waiting at our apartment with a baguette, butter, milk and some fruit! The place is beautifully kept and looks just like the pictures. Very comfortable. The location was great. The bus stop was practically less than a block from the house and took us directly downtown in 15-20 minutes. Thanks again Liam.

  • Stayed June 2013
  • Submitted April 27, 2014

 

 

GREAT APARTMENT

  •  5 out of 5

The apartment was great... same as on pictures... The location was perfect only 10-15 minutes by foot from the center city... the kitchen and bathroom were equipped with all necessaries ( all the things you need and more) . The owner was perfect, with quick responses to all emails and questions. The apartment was equipped with a lot of brochures and city guides. We enjoined our staying there. We would definitely recommend this apartment.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Apr-2014

Excellent!

If it were possible to give ten stars I would gladly do so! My husband and I rented three units, the Samuel Beckett, the Keats, and the James Joyce for our six daughters, four granddaughters, and three great granddaughters under three. My husband is somewhat limited in mobility and our gracious host Liam made every effort to accommodate him, as well as providing a high chair and cot for the littlest one. The apartments are everything they advertise...spacious, immaculate, comfortable and so very convenient. The city bus stop is just steps away and you can connect to tours and attractions very easily. My only regret is that we can't return every year!

  • Stayed April 2014
  • Submitted April 15, 2014

 

The property was fantastic: clean and very well located (close to a supermarket and bus stops to downtown Dublin). Liam was extremely helpful and easy to work with, I would definitely rent from him again. 
You will love this place as your base to Dublin.

March 2014

 

 

UN APPARTEMENT CONFORTABLE CALME DE BON GOUT

Nous avons passé un très bon moment à Dublin et nous avons beaucoup apprécié votre sens de l'accueil .L'appartement est très confortable et nous pouvons dire que rien ne nous a manqué lors de ce séjour de 5 jours.Le voisinage est très calme et l'appartement bien situé pour prendre les transports en commun vers le centre ville ,de plus ,aucune difficulté pour garer gratuitement la voiture dans la rue. Encore bravo pour la décoration,moderne !Les photos et les descriptions sont réalistes.A RECOMMANDER.

  • Stayed March 2014
  • Submitted April 5, 2014

 

Easy, Economical Stay on the North Side

My family of five (brother, sister-in-law, nephew, and spouse) stayed in the James Joyce for 6 nights on a bucket-list trip to Dublin. The apartment was comfortable and matched the pictures shown. Liam (the apartment owner) was responsive to all email inquiries and the payment process was seamless. We liked staying out of the city center and in a real-to-life Irish neighborhood with pubs, grocery stores, and take-away restaurants within a few minutes walk. We had a few problems at the start but Liam was very responsive and corrected the issue within an hour of our calling. American travelers: Be advised that the apartment does not have a phone; it might be a good idea to have a world plan on your mobile as we were lucky to find someone willing to let us make a call. 5 Stars to the pick-up taxi from and to the Dublin airport. Brendan, our driver, could not have been more accommodating and the price was reasonable. Liam made all the arrangements for us so we never had to think about it. Fresh bread, local butter and jam, and fresh fruit were all provided for our arrival -- and good restaurant information was given for our first Dublin meal. Plan ahead for the weather, please. We're from the Pacific Northwest of the USA so rain didn't bother us; we were, however, unprepared for how the humidity affected the temperature so a relatively clement day (48 - 52 degrees F) was very, very cold.

  • Stayed March 2014

 

Excellent apartment in Dublin

Excellent stay in this apartment fully equiped and very comfortable. A bit far from the center while walking (40 min) but very nice area close to Phoenix Park. We had a great stay and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014

 

  • Fantastic apartment

  

Left on 03/30/2014 for a stay in March 2014

We hired the apartment for one weeks stay in Dublin. The apartment is excellently situated to access all areas of the city. Its approximately 10 minute walk to Phoenix Park and Dublin Zoo, which is well worth a visit. There is a bus stop across the road, however alternately if you like to walk (like we did), the city centre can be reached in approximately 20-30 minutes. There is a Tesco 5 minutes walk also from the apartment.

The apartment is beautifully decorated with many period features. Well equipped to cater for all your needs. Alternatively there are many pubs and restaurants to choose from in the local area if you don't fancy cooking!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Liam the owner was most helpful. We will be recommending this apartment to our friends and family and will defiantly come back in the future.

 

Buen apartamento para pasar unos días con la familia.

  

Left on 03/12/2014 for a stay in October 2013

Hola, lamento el retraso en enviar esta información sobre la casa de Liam.
El apartamento esta en un sitio tranquilo y cerca del centro (10-15 minutos andando), con una parada de autobús casi en la misma puerta.
La habitación principal (salón y cocina) es grande y espaciosa, con mucha claridad. Tiene un dormitorio amplio con dos camas, y un sofá cama en la habitación principal. 
El apartamento tiene todo lo necesario, y nos sentimos muy cómodos durante la estancia en el mismo. 
Nos ubico en la primera planta (segunda para ellos) que resultó ser más cómoda y espaciosa que la baja, que estaba ocupada.
El trato y la comunicación con el propietario, fueron correctos. Puede poner a vuestra disposición un taxi, para el tema de los traslados al aeropuerto.
Recomendaría este apartamento para pasar unos días en Irlanda.

 

 

Muy Buena Opcion Para UNa Familia. Libertad Y Comodidad.

  

Left on 02/21/2014 for a stay in February 2014

Apartamento en un edificio clásico pero perfectamente restaurado por dentro. Muy cómodo y bien situado, con más de 4 lineas de autobuses hacia el centro. Al lado del Phoenix Park.

 

 

BEAUTIFUL APARTMENT IN A GREAT LOCATION

  •  4 out of 5

We really enjoyed our stay in the James Joyce apartment, the flat was beautifully decorated with ample space for all 6 of us. The apartment was in a great location, right next to the local tescos and a 5 minute walk away from Phoenix park, as well as being right next to a bus stop which took you into the centre of town. 
Liam was there to meet us when we arrived at the apartment and was quick to arrange taxis from the airport which was a great help as we had never visited before. We thoroughly enjoyed staying in the apartment and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Aug-2013

 

 

 

 

FANTASTIC

  •  5 out of 5

Wonderful apartment, just as advertised. Of all the places we stayed in Ireland this was perhaps the best mix of authentic character and convenience. The owners (Liam and Fiona) were extremely accommodating and polite and the apartment was perfect. Whether you are looking for a home base from which to experience the culture and beauty of Dublin or simply trying to take a few days off to relax (we were looking for a little of both), this is a fantastic and affordable option. Five stars!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Jan-2013

WONDERFUL 

  •  5 out of 5

"Everything was as promised, even better. The apartment was clean and the kitchen fully equipped. 
The neighborhood was quiet, close to main tourist attractions, bus station and a supermarket. 
Best accommodation one can get in order to have a great vacation in Dublin.